Close Menu
Website (5) (1)

HYPE THEM: LIVE SESSION & CREATIVE INFLUENCES OF TYRON WEBSTER

Our HYPE THEM hosting duo, kaoti and sher, welcomed upcoming Yorkshire singer and songwriter Tyron Webster to their recent show. The trio discussed topics including LGBTQ+ news and Tyron’s musical influences and journey. Alongside this, we were treated to a beautiful live session from Tyron on the Reform Radio airwaves.

Watch the full session and listen to the show episode below.

As well as mastering the craft of soulful lyricism and soothing melodies, Tyron has also been jumping into other creative ventures on the Manchester scene. We chatted to him to find out more about what he’s getting up to; get to know him below…

Introduce your name, pronouns and star sign.

Hey, I’m Tyron Webster, my pronouns are he/him and I am a Virgo.

If you had to describe your music in three words to someone who had never heard it before, how would you describe it?

R&B, pop, and sweet vocals.

Where did your journey with music begin?

It all started when I heard the likes of Prince and Mariah Carey’s 1995 Live at Madison Square Garden video on VHS. I would sing to them both on repeat as a way to escape. I went on to study music at college and Leeds Conservatoire; the rest is history. 

Have there been any important role models in your musical journey that have inspired your sound or aesthetic?

Prince, Mariah Carey, and Luther Vandross were my main inspirations growing up. I grew up in a multicultural house so I was also around a lot of reggae music and Bollywood movies which I just fell in love with. These definitely impacted me and my journey.

Tryon Webster stood in front of a garage door with graffiti on it.

Where do you find inspiration for your creativity?

I mainly find inspiration in real life situations whether that be love, the idea of love or happy memories. I take a lot of inspiration from friends as well. Sometimes I’ll even just wake up from a dream and record a melody or idea that I’ve had.

Who is your queer icon?

My everyday queer icon is Lady Phyll who is a trailblazer in the queer community. Everything she has done and is doing knows no bounds. Musically, I’d have to say Luther Vandross. 

How does your music writing process look?

Chaotic. I will often sing the different musical parts that I want to form the track or poorly explain them! This is how Mariah Carey makes music. Sometimes, I will go into a session with references of what I’m liking the sound of. Then, I’ll either write the top-line there and then, or I’ll take the beat away and sit with it to write to it. 

What does being queer mean to you?

Being queer is taking back the word that was used so negatively against the community and giving it power and a new meaning. It’s self-expression. It is acceptance of all different kinds of queer. It’s a sense of community and wanting to see all queers succeed and live happily. I love being queer and I wouldn’t change it for the world. It’s a superpower. 

Tryon Webster stood in an industrial setting with graffiti behind him.

Can you tell us a bit about your event series – GLOSS.? What drove you to kickstart it?

GLOSS. is a QTIPoC-led project myself and my friend Misty created. We’re starting off with a club night, to then expand into other avenues including live music, panel talks and more. We’re holding space in places that QTIPoC and PoC communities are often underrepresented, despite much of them being created by people of colour initially. It’s not an exclusionary space so allies are encouraged as long as they are aware and respectful of the space they’re in. We are really keen to bridge that gap. In times like now where promoters are in it for money, it’s hard for grassroots events like us to succeed even though keeping this space is so desperately needed. So we have considered this in our planning too. Mix-Stress (Rebecca Swarray) once told me “if you don’t see the space, create it”, so that’s what I’m doing. 

What do you see for the future of Tyron Webster? Do you have any particular goals you’d like to achieve with your creative journey?

I’ve just returned after 2 years off from releasing and performing so my goal is to get back out there. I want to perform loads more, collaborate more and just have fun with it all. I’m trying not to concentrate on the pressures that are often put on creators, especially in this current climate. 

Where’s the best place for people to find you on social media and to find your music?

Instagram is the best place to find me – @tyron.withno.e.

Close Menu

State

url
playingpaused
urlhttps://www.mixcloud.com/reformradio/alga-rhythms-100-szajna-productions-9th-september-2021/
Close Menu